Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT), 1996

Print  Save to PDF  Share

An international treaty that prohibits “any nuclear weapon test explosion or any other nuclear explosion” anywhere in the world.

The treaty has been signed by 185 nations and ratified by 172. However, it cannot formally enter into force until it is ratified by 44 specific nations, 8 of which have yet to do so: China, India, Pakistan, North Korea, Israel, Iran, Egypt, and the United States.


Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty at a Glance
Atomic Archive Nuclear Testing Chronology
United Nations Office for Disarament Affairs website