Coalition for Rainforest Nations

Print  Save to PDF  Share

A voluntary grouping, largely of developing nations with rainforests, which addresses issues surrounding environmental sustainability specific to tropical rainforests.

Participation does not necessarily imply that countries adhere to any specific domestic policies or negotiating positions within the international context. Countries participate on a voluntarily basis primarily through unified negotiating positions, workshops and collaborative programs.

At April 2022, the group included: Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Sudan, Uganda, Zambia. South America: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Suriname, Uruguay Asia: Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, India, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Pakistan, Republic of Indonesia, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam. Caribbean: Dominica, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Saint Lucia. Central America: Belize, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama. Oceania: Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu.


Rainforest Coalition website