Bonn Agreement, 1969

Print  Save to PDF  Share

An agreement concluded following several oil spills in 1969, by the coastal nations of the North Sea. The Bonn Agreement’s intent is to ensure mutual cooperation in the avoidance and combating of environmental pollution. The agreement was revised in 1983 to include the European Union and again in 2001 to allow Ireland to join. Members of the Bonn Agreement are Belgium, Denmark, the European Community, France, Germany, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

The mechanism by which ten Governments, together with the European Union, cooperate in dealing with pollution of the North Sea by oil and other harmful substances. The signatories to the Agreement are the Governments of the Kingdom of Belgium, the Kingdom of Denmark, the French Republic, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Republic of Ireland, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Kingdom of Norway, the Kingdom of Sweden, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the European Union. Spain was welcomed as a Bonn Agreement Contracting Party at a ministerial meeting in 2019.


Bonn Agreement website