Annex I Parties

Print  Save to PDF  Share

The industrialised countries listed in Annex I to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), which committed to returning their greenhouse gas emissions to 1990 levels by the year 2000 as per Article 4.2 (a) and (b). They have also accepted emissions targets for the period 2008-12 as per Article 3 and Annex B of the Kyoto Protocol. They include the 24 original OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) members, the European Union, and 14 countries with economies in transition. (Croatia, Liechtenstein, Monaco, and Slovenia joined Annex 1 at COP-3, and the Czech Republic and Slovakia replaced Czechoslovakia.)